Chakra Colours

Chakras come from Sanskrit meaning wheels and are energy centres that start at the base of the spine and finish at the top of the head.

Each of the seven chakras is stimulated by its own complimentary colour which are the colours of the rainbow, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet.

If the chakras are not balanced, or if the energies are blocked, the basic life force can be slowed down making us feel listless, tired, or depressed. Not only can an imbalance have a physical affect, but our thought processes and peace of mind may also be affected which can lead to negativity, a lack of confidence, doubt or even fear.

A constant balance between the chakras promotes health and a sense of wellbeing, and I have included the following descriptions to help you decide the energy colour that you are seeking to help.

When you decide on the primary colour or colours that you’re looking for, if you can’t find a piece of jewellery that matches, then let me know what you would like and we can design something together that is exactly what you want.



VIOLET governs the CROWN chakra at the top of the head.

Violet relates to self-knowledge and spiritual awareness. It is the union with your higher self, with spirituality, and your higher consciousness. Dis-ease can result with an in-balance of energy in this chakra, either too much or too little.  The violet energy connects us to our spiritual self-bringing guidance, wisdom and inner strength and purifies our thoughts and feelings giving us inspiration in all undertakings.

INDIGO governs the BROW chakra or third eye in the centre of the forehead.

Indigo relates to self-responsibility – being responsible for one’s own life, responsible to oneself to follow the soul’s path and needs and trusting one’s own intuition. The indigo energy connects us to our unconscious self, and gives us the experience of being part of the whole universe. Strengthens intuition, imagination, psychic powers, and increases dream activity.

BLUE governs the THROAT chakra.

Blue is the colour of truth and purpose that relates to self-expression – speech and communication.  This is a mentally-relaxing colour that has a pacifying effect on the nervous system and promotes relaxation therefore ideal for sleep problems. Connects us to holistic thought, and gives us wisdom and clarity enhancing communication and speech.

GREEN governs the HEART chakra.

Green chakra relates to love and self-love – the ability to give and take unconditionally. When balanced we are able to give love and also to love and nurture ourselves.   The colour green helps relax muscles, nerves, and thoughts, cleanses and balances our energy to give a feeling of renewal, peace and harmony. Green connects us to unconditional love and is used for balancing our whole being.

YELLOW governs the SOLAR PLEXUS chakra.

Yellow is a creative colour and relates to self-worth. How we feel about ourselves and how we feel others perceive us. This is the area of the personality, the ego and the intellect.  Gives us clarity of thought, increases awareness, and stimulates interest and curiosity. Yellow energy is related to the ability to perceive and understand and connects us to our mental self.

ORANGE governs the SACRAL chakra.

Orange is the colour of success and relates to self-respect and helps to expand interests and activities.  Brings joy to our workday and strengthens our appetite for life! Orange is the best emotional stimulant. It connects us to our senses and helps to remove inhibitions and makes us independent and social.

RED governs the BASE chakra.

Red relates to self-awareness and is the area of survival and stability.  The colour red provides the power from the earth and gives energy on all levels connecting us to our physical body.

Follow Lesely on Twitter to find out what’s happening.